Merry Christmas to all, and to all, a good night!!

In case you didn’t know (and how would you?), yours truly here is a sucker for Christmas. Once December comes, I’m talking Christmas decorations, wearing a Santa hat every day, singing along to Christmas songs at the mall and, of course, watching Christmas movies. But as I’ve come to realize, there’s a lot more to Christmas movies than my humble regular list, so I challenged myself to 18 days of Christmas Movies (it was supposed to be 25, but December just arrived out of nowhere!).

18 days of christmas.png

The movies were selected from Time Out’s 50 Best Christmas Movies. Due to the time restriction, I chose the ones I thought I was most likely to enjoy and favored the ones I hadn’t yet seen (except for one or two absolute musts, like “Love Actually”). So here you go. I’m a little late at posting this cause Christmas shopping, work and birthday celebrations got the best of me, but I’ll keep updating it every day with a short comment on the movie of the day. And for those who’d like to tag along, there’s still one week to go.

18. Bad Santa [X]

I liked it better than when I saw it at the movie theater back when I was about 13 but still the best thing about “Bad Santa” is having Lauren Graham on the cast.

17. All I Want for Christmas [X]

Classic. You’ve got the 90’s vibe, you’ve got New York, you’ve got kids plotting to get their parents back together for one more Christmas Day. I mean, there’s no way you can go wrong with that. I’m definitely watching this every year from now on.

16. Elf [X]

This movie is proof that when it comes to me, you can get away with almost anything if you fill it up with enough Christmas spirit. Unexpectedly, I loved it. And I may or may not have shed a single tear in the end. Absolutely adorable. 

15. Reindeer Games [X]

It’s almost fun to watch stars like Ben Affleck and Charlize Theron before they were award-winners. Almost. But the only thing this B-movie’s got going for it is that it’s so bad for the first hour you never see the plot twists coming.

14. Die Hard [X]

Yes, it’s true. I had never seen Die Hard. And oh boy! I have to go all Granny on this and say they don’t make action movies like they used to. Bruce Willis at this best! All there is to say is yippee ky-yay, motherfucker.

13. The Santa Clause [X]

Pretty much the same comment as Elf. If you have THE real Santa and people questioning it, I’m hooked. Plus Tim Allen is amazing.

12. Planes, trains and automobiles [X]

Though technically a Thanksgiving movie, it’s got enough spirit to make Time Out’s list. And though it has John Hughes all over it for its benefit, I get really annoyed at this sort of “too over the top” scenarios. Not my cup of tea.

11.  Miracle on 34th Street (1947) [X]

I was already a fan of the 1990 version. I always sit down and watch it when it comes on TV around Christmas, but I’d never seen the original version. And something about it being black and white just makes it all the more Christmas-y. Really can’t decide which version I like best.

10. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation Christmas with the Kranks [X]

Somewhere along the 8 days that followed the making of this list, Netflix pulled down “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation” and I only found out when I was ready to hit play. So I watched “Christmas with the Kranks”, which was on my Netflix list as back up. It’s fun to watch, but also a little “too over the top”. But the ending is sweet.

9. Christmas in Connecticut [X]

I’m extremely biased. I love old B&W movies… those were simpler times, with simpler scripts. One of the greatest discoveries from this challenge, so far.

8. The Family Man [X]

I was positively surprised by this one. I particularly enjoyed that we have to figure out the “glimpse” along with Jack Campbell, because for most of the movie, his former life does indeed seem so much better, even though you know it shouldn’t. Plus I’m a fan of the not perfectly happy ending.

7. Holiday Inn [X]

Bing Crosby. Fred Astaire. That’s enough to vouch for quality, although not particularly Christmas-y in my book.

6. Home Alone [X]

A childhood classic for me. I’ve seen it many times and it’s probably the reason why I’ve always loved being home alone. Also, Kevin McAllister is a kid genius. It’s mandatory for anyone under the age of 30.

5. White Christmas [X]

Much like Holiday Inn, it’s a great movie but didn’t feel very Christmas-y. Until the last ten minutes. Then I couldn’t see anything from all the tears in my eyes.

4. Arthur Christmas [X]

THIS MOVIE IS SO FRIGGIN’ CUTE I WANNA WATCH IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN. Seriously though, you have a lineage of Santas!! Need I say more?

3. It’s a wonderful life [X]

I can’t believe it took me 24 years of my existence to finally watch this. Between the audience’s acclaim and the Oscar nominations for best acting, director, picture, sound and editing, you’re sure of one thing: this is the whole package.

2. Miracle on 34th street (1990) [X]

Turns out I can decide afterall. The original version is better, though this one does deserve credit for the equally creative “In God we trust” solution.

1. Love Actually [X]

This movie was criminally underrated on Time Out’s list. We’re talking Richard Curtis at his best. The source of at least three historical romantic scenes in the history of modern cinema. Laughter, sighs and tears, all packed in to one.

CHALLENGE COMPLETED. MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Leave a comment